IMG_1767

You Don’t Eat No Meat!?

After spending 2 weeks in Greece I understand Aunt Voula’s surprise when Ian Miller declared he was a vegetarian (I’m referring to My Big Fat Greek Wedding for all y’all who missed a critical part of the early 2000s). Luckily, I eat meat and branched out of my gastronomical comfort zone to try things I wouldn’t usually order.

There are a lot of places to stop by on our food tour so here’s a map so you can follow along

Image

Let’s start in Zakynthos:

Our last day on the island we went to a restaurant called El Greco. I highly suggest you go if you ever visit. They have great food to be enjoyed on a vine covered terrace with sweeping views of mountains and sea.

Image

Hummus Hummus Hummus!

Image

Okay, this was probably one of my favorite parts about Greece: tzatziki! This is a yogurt made from goat or sheep milk which is commonly served as an appetizer or with gyros.

Image

I was not as big of a fan of these stuffed grape leaves, more because of the flavor than anything else. They were filled with rice and cheese (I think)

Image

BEST PART OF THE MEAL!! This was really tender pork seasoned with who knows what and cooked who knows how! All I know is I was in carnivorous heaven.

Now onto Arachova (probably my favorite place in Greece so far). This portion of the trip was defined by lamb. After a 7 mile hike down a semi-precarious mountainside, we were rewarded with a slow cooked lamb on a spit. ON A SPIT!!!

Image

This is it! This is the lamb on a spit! Unfortunately we missed the cooking process but the eating process wasn’t so bad! It was seasoned with a whole lot of salt and I’m not sure what else. But it was the most tender thing I’ve ever eaten in my life.

Image

Homemade goat cheese

Image

Cheese pies (tiropita?)

Image

Similar to the cheese pies but with spinach. If there’s one thing I learned it’s that the Greeks sure love their fillo dough!

Image

These are called diples, which is a fried dough dipped in warm honey. Awesome.

On to Athens where we dined with a perfect view of the Parthenon

Image

I think that this may be the only way I’ll actually eat a salad. In one bite you had sesame seeds, parmesan cheese, sun-dried tomatoes, walnuts, raisins, and corn, all topped with balsamic vinegar.

Image

So I actually ate this whole chicken pie, I kid you not it was amazing. I wish I knew what it’s called, so ten points to whoever can figure it out.

Image

Baked goat cheese with tomato.

Image

Cheese puff thingys (wow I’m really bad at this!)

Image

Ouzo chicken with peppers

Image

Okay, this was actually my favorite dish of the night. I may have said that about the chicken pie but this takes the cake. Those lamb sausage things were out of control! You take a piece of pita, smear somma dat goat cheese with tomato sauce on it, and then get you lamby sausage and eat till you feel like you may pass out.

Now I know I’ve been leaving out desserts (well except for the diples). But that’s because I was usually in a mini food coma by the time we got to the sweets. Our last day in Greece was spent in a small Spartan village. Before leaving we all sat in the main square and drank Greek coffee or frappes, and ate literally the most amazing donuts ever made by these awesome people:

ImageImage

They were so adorable and could make some seriously delicious donuts! I almost brought them to Italy with me.

Image

These are them. Loukoumades (Saif, please feel free to make these when I come home). They are doused in honey and sprinkled with cinnamon, I mean what more could you need. They kind of reminded me of buñuelos, a Latin American dessert, but these donuts were more squishy and doughy.

Image

So good we ate 2 plates (we being a small group of 4 girls…oops)

So that’s that. Hope y’all go and support your local Greek restaurant, or just buy a ticket to Greece for some awesome lamb and goat cheese.

Leave a Reply

